Default Site-Boundary-Group and boundaries

The purpose of the Default Site-Boundary-Group is to service clients that are not served by any other boundary group (that being local boundary group or neighbor boundary group). However in ConfigMgr 1610 there has been some confusement around the fact that you can add boundaries to the Default Site-Boundary-Group . I’ve been asked a couple of times if we should add all boundaries to the Default Site-Boundary-Group since the group is automatically configured for Site assignment.

image

My take on that is NO, don’t use the Default Site-Boundary-Group as you don’t really control it. You will also notice that you can’t add boundaries to the group (from within the boundary group).

image

However if you right click a boundary in ConfigMgr 1610, select Add Selected Items to Existing boundary Groups, then you are able to add the boundary!

image

 image

Now, with this knowledge you have found a way to include all your boundaries to the Default Boundary group – but stop! Don’t think that’s a valid path. Instead create a new boundary group, add your boundaries and configure that for site assignment.

Changes in ConfigMgr 1701

In the latest ConfigMgr TP 1701 the ability to add boundaries to the Default Site-Boundary-Group is removed

image

So what should be added to the Default Boundary group?

In my opinion, a “fallback distribution point” and from ConfigMgr 1701 TP also a “fallback Software Update point”. That way clients without a managed boundary will still have site systems that can manage them.

By | 2017-01-23T13:34:33+00:00 January 23rd, 2017|Configuration Manager (SCCM), General info|3 Comments

About the Author:

Kent Agerlund
Microsoft Regional Director, Enterprise Mobility MVP. Microsoft Certified Trainer and Principal consultant. I have been working with Enterprise client management since 1992. Co-founder of System Center User Group Denmark in 2009. Certified MCITP: Enterprise Administrator, MCSA+Messaing, and much more. Member of: Microsoft Denmark System Center Partner Expert Team The Danish Technet Influencers program System Center Influencers Program.

3 Comments

  1. Thomas Ehler February 7, 2017 at 11:16 - Reply

    Hi Kent

    If we, by accident added boundarys to the Default Boundary group..

    How do we remove them again.

    And if not removable what is the consequence?

    • Ari February 16, 2017 at 12:07 - Reply

      Hi Kent and Thomas,

      We have same problem. Someone accidentally added boundaries to Default Site-Boundary-Group. How we can remove them

  2. Lach April 6, 2017 at 7:41 - Reply

    Have Microsoft categorically stated that you now no longer need to configure boundaries for all sites? The way TechNet/Blogs read this functionality negates the need to configure a boundary for a site unless you are going to have a site server allocated to that boundary.

Leave A Comment